

MINUTES

Special Council Meeting 8 May 2018

Table of Contents

1	Declaration of Opening / Acknowledgement of Country	3
2	Apologies / Members on Leave of Absence	3
3	Public Question Time and Receiving of Public Statements	3
4	Corporate Services	4
	4.1 Differential Rating Strategy 2018/19	4
5	Closure	5

MINUTES OF CITY OF VINCENT SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION AND CIVIC CENTRE 244 VINCENT STREET, LEEDERVILLE ON TUESDAY, 8 MAY 2018 AT 6PM

PRESENT: Presiding Member Mayor Emma Cole Presiding Member

Cr Susan Gontaszewski
Cr Alex Castle
Cr Joanne Fotakis
Cr Jonathan Hallett
Cr Jimmy Murphy
Cr Joshua Topelberg
South Ward
South Ward
South Ward

IN ATTENDANCE: Michael Quirk A/Chief Executive Officer

Kerryn Batten Director Corporate Services
John Corbellini (from 6.01pm) Director Development Services

Andrew Murphy Director Engineering

Natasha Brooks Governance & Council Support Officer Emma Simmons Governance & Council Support Officer

Media: Nil Public: Nil.

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Presiding Member, Mayor Emma Cole, declared the meeting open at 6pm and read the following Acknowledgement of Country statement:

"The City of Vincent would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land, the Whadjuk people of the Noongar nation and pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging"

2 APOLOGIES / MEMBERS ON LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Cr Dan Loden

3 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME AND RECEIVING OF PUBLIC STATEMENTS

Nil

4 CORPORATE SERVICES

4.1 DIFFERENTIAL RATING STRATEGY 2018/19

TRIM Ref: D18/63575

Authors: Tim Evans, Manager Governance and Risk

Vanisha Govender, Manager Financial Services

Authoriser: Kerryn Batten, Director Corporate Services

Attachments: 1. Rate Setting Statement

RECOMMENDATION:

That Council:

1. ADVERTISES by local public notice, in accordance with Section 6.36(1) of the *Local Government Act 1995* for a period of 21 days its intention to levy the following differential rates and minimum rates in 2018/19 and invites submissions on the proposal from electors and ratepayers:

	2018/19	
Rating Category	Rate in the dollar	Minimum rate
Residential	0.06490	\$1,180
Commercial Vacant	0.12628	\$1,494
Other	0.06619	\$1,180

2. NOTES any public submissions received in response to 1 above will be presented to Council for consideration.

COUNCIL DECISION

Moved: Cr Castle, Seconded: Cr Gontaszewski

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY (7-0)

For: Presiding Member Mayor Cole, Cr Gontaszewski, Cr Castle, Cr Fotakis, Cr Hallett, Cr Murphy

and Cr Topelberg

Against: Nil

(Cr Harley was absent from the Council Chamber and did not vote.)

(Cr Loden was an apology for the Meeting.)

5 **CLOSURE**

There being no further business, the Presiding Member, Mayor Emma Cole, declared the meeting closed at 6.06pm with the following persons present:

Presiding Member Mayor Emma Cole Presiding Member PRESENT:

South Ward Cr Susan Gontaszewski **North Ward Cr Alex Castle** Cr Joanne Fotakis **North Ward Cr Jonathan Hallett South Ward Cr Jimmy Murphy South Ward** Cr Joshua Topelberg **South Ward**

IN ATTENDANCE: Michael Quirk A/Chief Executive Officer

> **Director Corporate Services** Kerryn Batten John Corbellini (from 6.01pm) **Director Development Services**

Andrew Murphy Director Engineering

Natasha Brooks Governance & Council Support Officer Emma Simmons Governance & Council Support Officer

Media: Nil Nil. **Public:**

These Minutes were confirmed by Council as a true and accurate record of the Special Meeting of the Council held on 8 May 2018.

Signed:	Mayor Emma Cole	
	•	