

# MINUTES

# **Special Council Meeting**

# 21 May 2019

# **Table of Contents**

1	Declaration of Opening / Acknowledgement of Country		.3
2	Apologies / Members on Leave of Absence		.3
3	Public Question Time and Receiving of Public Statements		.3
4	Declarations of Interest		.3
5	Chief Executive Officer		.4
	5.1	Differential Rating Strategy 2019/20	.4
6	Closure		.5

#### MINUTES OF CITY OF VINCENT SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION AND CIVIC CENTRE 244 VINCENT STREET, LEEDERVILLE ON TUESDAY, 21 MAY 2019 AT 6PM

PRESENT:	Mayor Emma Cole Cr Susan Gontaszewski Cr Alex Castle Cr Joanne Fotakis Cr Jonathan Hallett Cr Dan Loden Cr Jimmy Murphy Cr Joshua Topelberg	Presiding Member South Ward North Ward North Ward South Ward North Ward South Ward South Ward
IN ATTENDANCE:	David MacLennan Andrew Murphy Michael Quirk John Corbellini Jordan Koroveshi Meluka Bancroft Emma Simmons Steven Tweedie	Chief Executive Officer Executive Director Infrastructure & Environment Executive Director Community Engagement Executive Director Development Services Coordinator Policy and Place Manager Governance, Property & Contracts Governance and Council Support Officer Governance Advisor
Media:	Nil	
Public:	Nil	

# 1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Presiding Member, Emma Cole, declared the meeting open at 6pm and read the following Acknowledgement of Country statement:

"Today we meet on the lands of the Nyoongar people and we honour them as the traditional custodians of this land".

# 2 APOLOGIES / MEMBERS ON LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Cr Roslyn Harley - Apology

### **3 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME AND RECEIVING OF PUBLIC STATEMENTS**

Nil

# 4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil

# 5 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

#### 5.1 DIFFERENTIAL RATING STRATEGY 2019/20

TRIM Ref:	D19/70126				
Authors:	Vanisha Govender, Manager Financial Services				
	John Paton, Executive Manager - Office of the CEO				
Authoriser:	Michael Quirk, Executive Director Community Engagement				
Attachments:	1. Rate Setting Statement 🔀				

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

#### That Council:

1. ADVERTISES by local public notice, in accordance with Section 6.36(1) of the *Local Government Act 1995* for a period of 21 days its intention to levy the following differential rates and minimum rates in 2019/20 and invites submissions on the proposal from electors and ratepayers:

	2019/	2019/20	
Rating Category	Rate in the dollar	Minimum rate	
Residential	0.06663	\$1,214.30	
Commercial Vacant	0.12817	\$1,537.40	
Other	0.06718	\$1,214.30	

2. NOTES any public submissions received in response to 1 above will be presented to Council for consideration.

#### **COUNCIL DECISION ITEM 5.1**

Moved: Cr Hallett, Seconded: Cr Loden

That the recommendation be adopted.

#### CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY (8-0)

- For: Mayor Cole, Cr Gontaszewski, Cr Castle, Cr Fotakis, Cr Hallett, Cr Loden, Cr Murphy and Cr Topelberg
- Against: Nil

(Cr Harley was an apology for the meeting.)

### 6 CLOSURE

There being no further business, the Presiding Member, Mayor Emma Cole, declared the meeting closed at 6.04pm with the following persons present:

PRESENT:	Mayor Emma Cole Cr Susan Gontaszewski Cr Alex Castle Cr Joanne Fotakis Cr Jonathan Hallett Cr Dan Loden Cr Jimmy Murphy Cr Joshua Topelberg	Presiding Member South Ward North Ward North Ward South Ward North Ward South Ward South Ward
IN ATTENDANCE:	David MacLennan Andrew Murphy Michael Quirk John Corbellini Jordan Koroveshi Meluka Bancroft Emma Simmons Steven Tweedie	Chief Executive Officer Executive Director Infrastructure & Environment Executive Director Community Engagement Executive Director Development Services Coordinator Policy and Place Manager Governance, Property & Contracts Governance and Council Support Officer Governance Advisor
Media:	Nil	

Public: Nil

These Minutes were confirmed by the Council as a true and accurate record of the Special Meeting of the Council held on 21 May 2019.

m Cl Mayor Emma Cole Signed:

Dated: 25 June 2019